Moving to Another Server

NI Volume License Manager 3.1 Help

Edition Date: June 2013

Part Number: 370967F-01

»View Product Info
Download Help (Windows Only)
Note Note  Do not remove NI VLM from the old server until after you have completed these steps.

Moving from a NI VLM 3.x Server

Perform the following steps when you need to move NI VLM 3.x to another machine:

  1. If moving from an NI VLM 3.0 server, send the Activity Compliance Log (File»Save Activity Compliance Log) from the current server to National Instruments.
  2. From within NI VLM on the current server, select the File»Backup/Restore menu item and complete the Back Up and Restore Wizard to back up the current NI VLM data, settings, and log data.
  3. Copy the backup files to another location, such as a network drive or a USB drive.
  4. Install NI VLM software onto your new server.
  5. Complete the Getting Started Wizard that appears when you first launch NI VLM, selecting to import settings from a previous NI VLM 3.x installation.

Moving from a NI VLM 2.x Server

Perform the following steps when you need to move a NI VLM 2.x or earlier installation to another machine:

  1. Send the Activity Compliance Log (Options»Save Activity Compliance Log in NI VLM 2.x) from the current server to National Instruments.
  2. Copy the configuration file (nivlm.cfg) and agreement license file (nivlm.lic) from the NI VLM installation directory on the current server to another location, such as a network drive or a USB drive.
  3. Install NI VLM software onto your new server.
  4. Complete the Getting Started Wizard that appears when you first launch NI VLM, selecting to import settings from a previous NI VLM 2.x installation.

Changing Volume License Server Settings on Client Machines

Once you have completed NI VLM setup, notify your clients of the change in server. They must then change the server name in their copy of NI License Manager using the following procedure:

  1. Launch NI License Manager from the Windows Start menu or from NI Launcher in Windows 8.
  2. Select the Options»Preferences menu item.
  3. Change the name in the Use Network License Servers setting to the new server name.

 

WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

Not Helpful