You can remove the block diagram source code from a VI so other users cannot edit the VI if you distribute VIs to other computers or other users. You also can assign password protection to a block diagram so the block diagram is still available if users enter a password, but a password provides less security than removing the block diagram.
|Note If you save a VI without the block diagram, users cannot edit the VI, move the VI to another platform, or upgrade the VI to a future version of LabVIEW.|
Complete the following steps to save VIs without the block diagrams to reduce the file size and prevent users from changing the source code.
|Note You cannot remove a block diagram from a VI without compiled code. If you place a checkmark in the Remove compiled code checkbox on the Additional Exclusions page, LabVIEW dims the Use default save settings checkbox on the Source File Settings page.|
|Caution If you save VIs without block diagrams, do not overwrite the original versions of the VIs. Save the VIs in different directories or use different names.|