Modifying Types

TestStand 2019 Help

Edition Date: May 2019

Part Number: 370052AA-01

»View Product Info
Download Help (Windows Only)

You can modify the built-in and custom properties of step types you create and custom data types you create. However, you cannot modify the built-in step types and standard data types TestStand installs.

Use the Copy and Paste context menu items to copy and rename an existing or built-in step type or standard data type on the Types pane of the Types window of the TestStand Sequence Editor.

When you modify a type, TestStand enables the PropTypeFlags_IsModifiedType type flag for the type. TestStand cannot automatically resolve type conflicts unless you disable the PropTypeFlags_IsModifiedType type flag. To disable the PropTypeFlags_IsModifiedType type flag, you typically increment the version number of the type on the Version tab of the Step Type Properties dialog box or on the Version tab of the Type Properties dialog box when you complete all the modifications to the type.

By default, the Before Saving Modified Types option on the File tab of the Station Options dialog box is set to Prompt to Increment Type Versions. This causes TestStand to launch the Modified Types Warning dialog box when you select File»Save <filename> and the sequence file or type palette contains types that are marked as modified. You can increment the type version or remove the modified mark on the type before saving, or save the type as modified.

When you open a file that was saved in an earlier version of TestStand, TestStand marks the file as modified when it automatically converts the file and upgrades built-in types and custom types that the file uses. Use the Do Not Mark Files as Modified if Modification is Caused Only by Automatic TestStand Version Upgrade option on the File tab of the Station Options dialog box to configure whether TestStand marks files as modified when upgrading files.

Note Note  If you modify any process model or process model plug-in types, open and save all the process models and process model plug-ins that use the modified types to ensure you avoid a type conflict. To modify or save the process models, you must first copy all the files from the <TestStand>\Components\Models\TestStandModels directory to the <TestStand Public>\Components\Models\TestStandModels directory and modify or save the files in the <TestStand Public>\Components\Models\TestStandModels directory. The files in the <TestStand Public>\Components\Models\TestStandModels directory override the files in the <TestStand>\Components\Models\TestStandModels directory. Similarly, you must copy any process model plug-in files from the <TestStand>\Components\Models\ModelPlugins directory to the <TestStand Public>\Components\Models\ModelPlugins directory before modifying the files.

WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

Not Helpful