File Menu

TestStand 2019 Help

Edition Date: May 2019

Part Number: 370052AA-01

»View Product Info
Download Help (Windows Only)

The File menu in the TestStand Sequence Editor contains the following items, which are used for basic file operations, such as opening, closing, saving, and printing files:

  • Login—Launches the Login dialog box and prompts you for a login name and password. When you click Cancel, TestStand gives you no privileges. Use the Login command to log in as a different user. Each user can have different privilege settings, so logging in as a different user can change the privileges.
  • Logout—Logs out the current user and launches the Login dialog box.
  • New—Displays a submenu that contains the following options for creating a new file:
    • Sequence File—Creates a new Sequence File window.
    • Workspace File—Creates a new workspace and displays the Workspace pane. Only one workspace can be open at a time. If a workspace is already open, TestStand closes it before creating a new workspace.
    • Analyzer Project—Creates a new TestStand Sequence Analyzer project, which becomes the current sequence analyzer project, and opens the Current Sequence Analyzer Project window. If an analyzer project is already open, TestStand closes it before creating the new project.
  • Open File—Opens existing TestStand files. Use this command to open sequence files, a workspace file, or a sequence analyzer project. When you select this option, the Open File dialog box launches and prompts you to choose files to load into the sequence editor. You can select multiple sequence files but only one workspace file or analyzer project. If you open a workspace file and a workspace file is already open, TestStand closes it before opening a different workspace. If you choose an analyzer project and an analyzer project is already open, TestStand closes it before opening a different analyzer project.
  • Close <filename>—Closes the active window. When you select this option, TestStand might launch a dialog box that prompts you to save any changes before closing the window. If the Workspace pane is active, you can leave the workspace file open in the Workspace pane so you can directly open a sequence file, or you can close the Workspace pane and use the options in the File menu to open a sequence file.
  • Close Workspace File—Closes the active workspace file. When you select this option, TestStand might launch a dialog box that prompts you to save any changes before closing the window. Click No if TestStand prompts you to save the changes.
  • Add <filename> to Workspace—Adds the file associated with the active window to the workspace. When you select this menu option, TestStand launches a dialog box that prompts you to specify where to insert the file in the workspace.
  • Save <filename>—Writes the contents of the active window or pane to disk. You can save sequence files, type palette files, users, station global variables, or the current workspace.
  • Save <filename> As—Writes the contents of the active Sequence File window or current workspace in the Workspace pane to disk using a new name you enter. The title bar on the Sequence File window or the Workspace pane displays the new name.

    To save a sequence file using a file format from a previous version of TestStand, select File»Save <filename> As and select the appropriate TestStand version option from the Files of Type control. You can save sequence files as TestStand 4.0 or later. Saving a sequence file to a previous version of TestStand saves the new copy to a location that is different than the location of the most recent version of the sequence file. If you try to overwrite a sequence file you previously saved for a version of TestStand that is different than the one for which you are currently saving, TestStand prompts you to save a back-up copy.
    Note  If the sequence file contains step types not present in previous versions of TestStand, or if the sequence file uses TestStand features previous versions of TestStand do not support, the sequence file you save in that format will not function correctly. TestStand does not warn you if the file you save cannot load or run in a previous version of TestStand.
  • Save All—Saves all open files to disk, including sequence files, global variables, type palettes, users, the current workspace, the current sequence analyzer project, and configuration information.
  • Unload All Modules—Removes from memory all step code modules, all code modules substeps call, and all sequence files not currently in a window. You can only use this command when there are no active executions. This command is useful when you want to rebuild a DLL after an execution but the DLL is loaded. The application development environment you use to build the DLL cannot write out the new contents of the DLL until TestStand unloads it.
    Notes Notes
    • The .NET Adapter cannot unload .NET code module assemblies when Microsoft Visual Studio is debugging managed code in the TestStand process.
    • The ActiveX/COM Adapter cannot always unload DLL ActiveX Automation servers. When TestStand requests the operating system to unload the ActiveX server, the operating system ignores the request and keeps the ActiveX server in memory. You must exit the TestStand application to release the ActiveX DLL server.
  • Most Recently Used Sequence Files—Lists the most recently opened sequence files.
  • Most Recently Used Workspace Files—Lists the most recently opened workspace files.
  • Exit—Closes the current sequence editor session. If TestStand is running any executions, the sequence editor prompts you to terminate or abort them. If you have modified any open files since the last save, or if any windows contain unnamed files, the sequence editor prompts you to save them.

See Also

Current Sequence Analyzer Project Window

Open File dialog box

Workspace Pane

WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

Not Helpful