Save As Dialog Box

LabVIEW 2018 Help


Edition Date: March 2018
Part Number: 371361R-01
View Product Info

DOWNLOAD (Windows Only)


LabVIEW 2016 Help
LabVIEW 2017 Help
LabVIEW 2018 Help
LabVIEW 2019 Help
LabVIEW 2020 Help

Requires: Base Development System

Select File»Save As to display this dialog box. You also can right-click a LabVIEW project library or an XControl in the Project Explorer window and select Save»Save As from the shortcut menu to display this dialog box. This dialog box appears only if you have already saved the VI, project library, or XControl.

Use this dialog box to save VIs and project libraries using various options. You can use this dialog box to save a copy of the previously saved file in memory to disk with a new name you choose. You also can use this dialog box to rename the file, or to copy an entire hierarchy of VIs to a new location.

This dialog box includes different components if you are saving a project library.

This dialog box includes the following components if you are saving VIs:

  • Original file—Displays the path to the open file. You can use this field to determine the location of a file on disk.
  • Copy—Creates and saves a copy of the file in memory to disk with a name you choose. If you enter a new file path or name for the file, the original file on disk is not overwritten or deleted.
    • Substitute copy for original—Both the original file and the new file exist on disk, but the original VI closes and the new VI opens. Use this option if you want to create a copy of the original file and immediately edit the copy.
      Caution  If the original file has calling VIs in memory, this option updates all these callers to refer to the new file.
      If the original file is in a project library or project, this option substitutes the new file for the original in the project library or project.
    • Create unopened disk copy—Both the original file and the new file exist on disk, but only the original file remains open in memory. Use this option if you want to create a copy of the original file but continue editing the original file, for example, if you want to create a backup copy. This option does not update callers in memory to refer to the new file. You can update callers manually by finding all instances of a VI and updating the name of each instance. If the original file is in a library or project, this option does not add the new file to the same library or project.
    • Open additional copy—Both the original file and the new file exist on disk and are open in memory. You must give the copy a new name, because two files of the same name cannot exist in the same application instance at the same time. Use this option if you want to create a copy of the original file, continue editing the original file, and also immediately edit the new file. This option does not update callers in memory to refer to the new file. You can update callers manually by finding all instances of a VI and updating the name of each instance. If the original file is in a library or project, you have the option of adding the new file to the same library or project by placing checkmarks in the appropriate checkboxes. If you place a checkmark in the checkbox to add the copy to the library, the checkbox to add the copy to the project is disabled and unchecked.
  • Rename—Renames the file in memory with a new name you choose. This option closes and deletes the original file and opens the file with the new name, so only the new file exists on disk and in memory. Use this option if you want to change the name and/or location of the original file.
    Caution  If the original file has calling VIs in memory, this option updates all these callers to refer to the new file.
    If the original file is in a library or project, this option adds the new file to the same library or project, and removes the original file.
  • Duplicate hierarchy to new location— Use this option if you want to save the original VI and its hierarchy to a new location. You might want to rename the new VI hierarchy after duplicating it.
  • Referencing files in the project or its dependencies—Lists files in memory that refer to the original file. This list appears only if the original file has referencing files in memory.
  • Continue—Opens an additional file dialog in which you enter the name of the new or renamed file.

WAS THIS ARTICLE HELPFUL?

Not Helpful